Bun: Good replacement for Node.js?

I was following Bun project for some time since it released its 0.1.1 version by its creator Jarred Summer. It promised to faster drop-in replacement for Node.js with a native bundler, transpiler, task runner, and npm client built-in. It uses Zig as the programming language and JavascriptCore as its JS engine.

They release v0.5.1 and I am excited about it cause it, at last, implemented a few native Node.js APIs which were missing like dns and tls. When I first tried to build a REST API with Postgres connection I failed as it hadn't implemented modules required by pg module to run like dns and tls.

Basic REST API

export default {
  fetch(req) {
    return new Response("Hello from Bun!");
  },
};

or you can use Bun.serve:

Bun.serve({
  fetch(req) {
    return new Response("HI!");
  },
});

and just use bun index.ts or bun run index.ts and your API is ready.

Use bun install <package name> to install any package from npm.

Trying with real project

I was excited to use bun with my project. So, when I saw Bun implemented dns and tls module I jumped in, updated bun, ran bun install to install dependencies, crossed my finger and executed bun run dev and voila everything worked as I ran some Node.js projects.

Bun's main selling point is its fast at startup than Node.js as its using JavascriptCore.

Do have a look at Bun, you will find the benchmark score in the landing page itself and it's all about speed.

Keeping learning, keep building.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Ratnadeep Bhattacharyya by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!